Related FAQ
👥 Group discussion
You can create, join or leave a group and its discussion in which messages are received by all its participants.
Create a group and its discussion
iPhone iPad
-
Tap
(bottom).
-
Tap
Create a group.
-
Select
who to add to this group.
-
Tap Create a group with these N users (N is the number of people selected).
-
Choose the discussion type. (You can always modify it later).
- Standard: All members can invite new members.
- Controlled: Only administrators can invite new members.
- Read only: Only administrators can post messages.
- Advanced: Unleash the full power of Olvid groups. And choose all the settings that suit you (administrators, read only, etc.).
-
Tap Confirm. For a Controlled, Read only or Advanced group, tap Choose admins, select the administrators, then tap Validate.
-
Optionally, you can choose a Name, a Description and an image for the group.
-
Tap Publish group.
The discussion is automatically created and appears in your discussions list .
Android
-
Tap the + button at the bottom right.
-
Tap
New group.
-
Select
who to add to this group.
-
Tap Add N members (N is the number of people selected).
If you already have a discussion with these people, Olvid suggests it. Tap Create a new group to continue.
-
Choose the discussion type. (You can always modify it later).
- Standard: All members can invite new members.
- Controlled: Only administrators can invite new members.
- Read only: Only administrators can post messages.
- Advanced: Unleash the full power of Olvid groups. And choose all the settings that suit you (administrators, read only, etc.).
-
Tap Next. For a Controlled, Read only or Advanced group, select the administrators, then tap Next.
-
Optionally, you can choose a Name, a Description and an image for the group.
-
Tap Create Group.
The discussion is automatically created and appears in your discussions list .
Depending on the type of group created, any participant can send and receive messages that will be received by all the others.
Each group member can view the details of a group and its discussion along with the list of members and participants in the discussion.
Clone a group
You can clone any group. This will copy the title, photo and, of course, members into a new, blank discussion for which you will be the main administrator.
iPhone iPad
-
Tap
Clone this group.
Android
-
Tap
, then Clone this group.
View all your groups and their discussions
To view a list of all your groups and their discussions,
iPhone iPad
- Tap
(bottom).
-
The groups you administer are displayed first.
-
The groups you have joined are shown next.
Android
- Tap
(bottom).
- The groups you administer are displayed with a
crown on the discussion icon.
View the details of a group and its discussion
The details of a group and its discussion display its invited members and the participants who have joined it, as well as its administrators and your options. You can view them in two ways:
-
Display the group discussion and tap its title (top).
-
View all your groups and their discussions, then tap the name of the group and its discussion.
Modify the details and type of a group and its discussion
If you are the administrator of a group and its discussion, you can modify its details and type.
iPhone iPad
-
In the Group administration section, tap what you want to change:
- Group name and picture: the name, description and picture. Then tap Publish changes.
- Members: add or remove members.
- Group type: Standard, Controlled, Read only or Advanced.
- Admins: choose the administrators, if the group type allows it.
Android
-
Tap
.
The Edit group details screen appears.
-
Select your choices, then press Publish.
Join a group and its discussion
To join a group and its discussion, one of its administrators must add you to the members invited to participate.
Leave a group and its discussion
You cannot leave a group and its discussion if you are the only administrator. Otherwise, any member or participant can leave a group and its discussion.
-
Tap
Leave this group, then tap OK to confirm.
Start a private discussion with a group participant
You can start a private discussion with a group participant as soon as he/she is in your contacts. If they are not yet in your contacts, you can invite them. Here is how to add other users to your contacts.
Delete a group
If you are the administrator of a group and its discussion, you can delete a group and any possibility to write in its discussion. The discussion of the group will be blocked and nobody will be able to write in it anymore.
Be careful, this operation is irreversible and the group will be deleted from all participants.
To delete a group,
-
Tap Disband this group.
A warning and confirmation message will be displayed.
-
Tap Delete this group for all members.
The group automatically disappears from your list of groups and the group discussion is blocked in all users with the automatic message “You are no longer part of this group, because you have left it, because an administrator has removed you from the group, or simply because the group has been deleted 🥲.”
Then you can also delete the discussion and all its posts.