Use multiple profiles


You can create, use and delete multiple Olvid profiles completely independent of each other, on a single device.

Olvid profile

Each profile is completely independent of the others. Each has its own:

  • Olvid IDentity and contact details (name, first name, company, profile picture)
  • Contacts and groups
  • Related cryptographic keys
  • Discussions and their settings
  • Settings
  • Licence

For example, you can create, use or delete:

  • a professional profile with your real name and a formal photo to exchange with your colleagues.
  • a personal profile with a nickname for your family and friends.
  • other profiles for other situations and for all your needs.

You can also create use and delete hidden profiles that will never appear in your profile list without requiring an additional password to show its existence and be accessible.

Create a profile

You can create as many profiles as you want.

iOS


These features will be available in 2022.

Android
  1. Tap your profile picture in the upper left, then tap Add Profile.

  2. Tap Create New Profile.

  3. Enter the information you want, then press Generate New ID.

Using a profile

You can easily switch from one profile to another.

iOS


These features will be available in 2022.

Android
  1. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner. A list of all your non-hidden profiles will appear.

  2. Tap the desired profile to simply open it.

Delete a profile

You can delete any profile and thereby erase all information associated with that profile on your device. This includes all its contacts, groups, discussions and any content related to that profile. And it’s irreversible.

Your other profiles will obviously not be affected by this operation, unless this profile is your last visible profile and you still have one or more hidden profiles. These will then be automatically deleted too.

If you have enabled Olvid backups, your future backups will contain no trace of this profile and you will not be able to restore it.

iOS


These features will be available in 2022.

Android
  1. Tap your profile picture in the top left corner. A list of all your non-hidden profiles will appear.

  2. Press the desired profile to open it. This profile becomes active and its profile picture is displayed in the upper left corner.

  3. Tap your profile picture again at the top left, then tap Manage. The My Profile screen will appear.

  4. Tap (top right) > Delete this profile. A warning screen with explanations appears.

  5. Press Continue. A screen will appear offering to notify your contacts of this deletion. Choose how to delete this profile.

    You can choose to notify your contacts (which we recommend*) so that :

    • your ID is removed from your contacts’ devices.
    • the groups you manage are dissolved.
    • you leave the groups you join.

    If you don’t notify contacts of this profile, they may continue to write to it without realizing that their messages can no longer be delivered to you. Unless you have transferred this ID to another device.

    *We recommend this, except in this particular case which follows the restoration of a backup on another device.

  6. Turn on or off Notify your contacts.

  7. Write DELETE to confirm, then press Delete.

Backing up your profiles

You can backup your profiles and restore them on your next device.

 Warning

Olvid for iOS does not yet support multi-profile. So it is not possible to restore a backup containing multiple profiles on iOS.

iOS


These features will be available in 2022.

Android
  1. Backup and restore your profiles.

License and profiles

Currently, each activated license is associated with one and only one profile and cannot be activated on multiple profiles, nor reactivated on others.

To directly acquire and enable/disable multiple licenses for one or more profiles, consult the pricing and contact us.