Message infos (sent, received, read and when)


Message Info lets you know if it has been sent, received, read and when.

Display the message info

iOS
  1. Tap the message to display the possibilities.
  2. Tap Info to display the Message Info.
Android
  1. Press the message to display its possibilities.
  2. Tap to display the Message Info.

Message Information

iOS


Sending: The message has not yet left your device. After a second, check your network connection.

Sent: The message has arrived at the message distribution server. It is available to the recipient(s).

Distributed: The message has been downloaded by the recipient’s device.

Read: The message has been read by the recipient.

The read confirmation is globally disabled by default for all discussions when Olvid is installed. Thus, if you wish to receive a confirmation that your messages have been read, ask each of your interlocutors to activate it globally or by setting their settings for your discussion together.

Confirmation of your reading of received messages is also globally activable and deactivable for all discussions, in the Olvid settings.

Edited : The message was edited after it was sent.

Android


Send request: The message has not left your device yet. After one second, check your network connection.

Sent: The message has arrived at the message distribution server. It is available to the recipient(s).

Delivered: The message has been downloaded by the recipient’s device.

Read: The message has been read by the recipient.

The read confirmation is globally disabled by default for all discussions when Olvid is installed. Thus, if you wish to receive confirmation of reading of your messages, ask your interlocutors to activate it globally or by setting their settings for your discussion together.

Confirmation of your reading of received messages is also globally enableable and disableable for all discussions, in the general Olvid settings.

EDITED The message was edited after it was sent.

on a message sent in a group

For a message sent in a group, means that there is at least one recipient to whom the message could not be sent. This is probably because the creation of the secure channel with this contact(s) has not been completed and the message is still pending. But the other participants receive it.

You can verify this by viewing the message details and then those of the group (by tapping its thread title, at the top) or by going to your contacts list . If three small dots are blinking next to a contact’s name, the secure channel with that contact is not completed. Read The secure channel creation never ends.

Quick fixes

  1. First check that the contact has not changed his/her Olvid IDentity by switching devices without restoring a backup, for example. In this case, you will have to add him/her with his/her new IDentity. Read more here about managing the group: Why can’t I delete a contact?

  2. If the contact has not changed his Olvid IDentity, have him open Olvid to finish creating the secure channel. If it still doesn’t work in a few seconds, read all the known troubleshooting cases here: The secure channel creation never ends.

Timestamp

  • On the sender’s side, the time indicated is the local time of the phone at the time of pressing the send button. This time is never changed afterwards.

  • On the receiver side, the time is the server time at the moment of the end of the sending of the message or of its last attachment.

  • The times are always calculated on the device as UTC and displayed in local time. If the device changes time zone, the displayed times will automatically update so that the absolute time remains true.

  • For ephemeral messages with a duration of existence, the T0 to start the countdown is the moment when the message has finished being deposited on the server (end of the last attachment). And Olvid takes the necessary steps upon reception to correct any discrepancies between the phone’s internal clock and the real time.