Ephemeral Messages


Ephemeral messages allow you to program automatic deletion of messages for each discussion.

You can also set a configuration for all discussions which is then applied by default to all new discussions created in Olvid (new contacts or new groups).

Changing this configuration does not change the settings of existing discussions.

Automatically deleted messages will never be recoverable.

Ephemeral messages - Shared configuration

These shared configuration items are specific to a discussion and are therefore shared between your device and those of the discussion participant(s).

In case of a change, the new visibility and existence duration will be sent to all discussion participants via a system message in the discussion and will also apply to their next messages in the discussion.

Read once

Activated : Messages and their attachments are displayed only once. They are deleted as soon as you leave the discussion view.

Visibility duration

Activated : Messages and their attachments are displayed for a limited time after being read. Once displayed, a countdown timer is started, after which the message is deleted.

Choices: Unlimited, 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute, 5 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hour, 6 hours, 12 hours, 1 day, 7 days, 30 days, 90 days, 180 days, 1 year, 3 years, 5 years.

Existence duration

Activated : Messages and their attachments are automatically deleted a certain period of time after being sent, whether they have been read or not.

Choices: Unlimited, 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute, 5 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hour, 6 hours, 12 hours, 1 day, 7 days, 30 days, 90 days, 180 days, 1 year, 3 years, 5 years.

Ephemeral messages - Local configuration

In order to better adapt ephemeral messages to your use, some additional local settings are available.

Local configuration = on your device only. These settings adjust the behaviour of ephemeral messages on your device but are not shared with other discussion participants.

Auto-read

Activated: Will automatically open all messages as soon as you enter the discussion.

Otherwise, you will have to press each message to read it.

Retain wiped ephemeral outbound messages

Enabled: After the visibility duration of an outgoing ephemeral message has expired, the contents of the message are deleted, but a record of the message is kept so that you can see whether your correspondent has received/read the message.

The message is completely deleted once the existence duration of the message expires.

Otherwise, the message is completely deleted as soon as the visibility duration of the message expires.