Settings by discussion


You can enable automatic deletion of messages per discussion individually or for all your discussions.

Automatically deleted messages will never be recoverable.

Access the automatic message deletion settings by discussion

iOS
  1. In a discussion, tap to display the discussion settings.
  2. Choose your settings for automatic message deletion and your retention policy.
Android
  1. In a discussion, tap > discussion settings.
  2. Choose your settings for automatic message deletion and your retention policy.

Scope of available settings

  • The following settings simply override the default values set in Global Settings.

    They are local to your device and are not shared with your contacts.

    • Auto-read
    • Retain wiped ephemeral outbound messages
    • # Count based
    • Time based
  • The following parameters are shared with the other participants in the discussion.

    They apply to all future messages sent in the discussion.

    In group discussions, only the group administrator has the right to change these settings.

    • Read once
    • Visibility duration
    • Existence duration