Global Settings


You can enable automatic deletion of messages for all your discussions or per discussion individually.

Some settings affect messages in all your discussions (or future discussions). We therefore recommend that you familiarise yourself with them by first trying them out with a discussion in particular.

Automatically deleted messages will never be recoverable.

Access the auto-delete settings for all discussions

iOS
  1. In Olvid, tap > > Discussions.
  2. Choose your settings for automatic message deletion and your default retention policy.
Android
  1. Go to > Settings > Send & receive messages.
  2. Choose your settings for automatic message deletion and your default retention policy.

Scope of available settings

  • The following settings apply by default to all discussions. But they can be configured per discussion individually.

    They are local to your device and are not shared with your contacts.

    • Auto-read
    • Retain wiped ephemeral outbound messages
    • # Count based
    • Time based
  • The following settings apply to new discussions you create (new contacts, new groups) and are shared with other discussion participants.

    Once the discussion is created, it is always possible to update these settings in your individual settings.

    • Read once
    • Visibility duration
    • Existence duration